art · Blogging · History · Photography · Share · Share A Blog · Sharing · Uncategorized · War · Writing

Sadness in Syria, Hama.

Amazing Photography as well as writing. I am sharing this post because I believe those who do not live in the Middle East have a skewed idea of how those people are. This sad piece shows that they are very much like us, if not more friendly and welcoming. They have people who care for them and people who mourn for their loss of this world.

John Wreford Photographer

Faisal was the first Syrian friend I made on my first ever visit, he was also the first friend I lost in the war; I made many more friends and lost more too.

My first visit to Syria must be some twenty years ago now, only my diaries lost in my Mothers cavernous loft have the details, so much of my memory is draped in the dust of time but that day is still clear to me.

I walked over the old stone bridge spanning the al Assi River, the Norias grinding on the far bank, I spotted a sandwich shop, more a kiosk really, I treated the young man behind the counter to my recently learned Arabic greeting, he smiled as he replied, he prepared my sandwich and we both sat on plastic chairs and became friends, he told me some years later the reason he had taken to…

View original post 484 more words

Leave a Reply

